A password-protected directory or area is a folder that could be accessed when a username and a password are typed in, so no unauthorized people may see its content. This option can be used for the primary folder of a given site or only for a certain subfolder based upon your preferences. As an example, when you are creating a new website and you do not want people to see it before it is 100% ready, you may want to prohibit the access to it completely, and if you would like only some people to be able to access particular files, you are able to password-protect only a particular folder, while the remaining portion of the site could be seen by everybody. In either case, a “403 Forbidden” error page shall appear in case the login details the visitor inputs are not correct. Even a direct link to a file will not work if any folder above it is password-protected.

Password Protected Directories in Cloud Hosting

Setting up a password-protected area will take no more than a couple of clicks and a few seconds when you host your websites inside a cloud hosting account with our company. You shall not have to do anything complex - you'll need to choose a domain/subdomain, to pick which folder under it must be secured, and then to input the login name and password which will be used to access that folder. If a number of individuals need their own login details, there shall not be a problem to create a number of different usernames with access to the same exact folder. All secured folders will appear with a padlock icon in the File Manager section, so you shall always know where this feature is enabled. If you wish to deactivate the protection function for any folder, you can deactivate it from the exact same section of the CP where you have enabled it.